About the Department of Pol. Science

The Political science department started its journey in the year 1970 with pass course in its wings. In the year 1985 Honours course has been started. Department is consisting of three full time teachers and two SACT Teachers. Many renowned teachers taught in this department namely Prof. Rakhakrishna Dey, Prof. Siddhartha Bhattacharya, Prof. Sankar Ghosh etc. A good number of students have passed out successfully from this college and they are now placed in different reputed organizations including Government and private sector. Presently Dr. Munmun Chatterjee is working as the Head of the Department with the help of other reputed teachers namely Tapasi Dey. Sk. Abdul Halim, Gurupada Malla, Bhuddhadev Kumbhakar.Most of the students of our department are financially weaker and backward section, for which department has arranged remedial classes to develop their knowledge and skills.

Year of Establishment of the Department

Political Science Pass- 1970

Political Science Hons- 1985